Reading as a writer and my novel is finished!

Today on Writing.ie I ask if being a writer ruins your love of reading.

I’ve also been reading this lovely optimistic and interesting article on the short story by Arminta Wallace in the Irish Times.

Apart from that I’m almost ready to submit my new novel The Book of Remembered Possibilities.  It’s my nanowrimo 2010 novel and I’ve been flat out working really hard on it particularly over the last few months. It’s a story of many layers and I’m pleased with how it’s turned out. One of the main themes is the power of storytelling and the novel contains four standalone short stories. Here’s my blurb for the book.

Sometimes stories can keep a life together; sometimes stories can tear a world apart. Set in the flux of the Celtic bust, Freya’s life is far from perfect. After a traffic accident Freya has lost her memories and somehow gained some she doesn’t recognise. Whilst her archaeologist husband is on the far side of Ireland immersed in the history of a newly found female Bog Body, Freya’s crumbling life is infiltrated and haunted by Glisa who seems to represent a perfect life. For Glisa, her perfect world it isn’t enough and it’s only by telling stories – both her own and those from Freya’s chaotic existence that she can make a life worth living. There’s a sinister undercurrent to Glisa’s life and Freya’s background is uncertain and hidden by her mothers deceit. Fairytales of the past, present and future, mirrors, castles, children present and lost all converge to bring Freya closer to the life she wanted and to threaten Glisa’s very existence.

(If you’ve any constructive criticism for my blurb please let me know, I’m here to learn!)

8 comments

  1. Well done on completing your novel! You don’t know me at all, I stumbled upon your blog by accident, but I like it and I like the sound of your book. So, if you don’t mind some immediate feedback, here goes:
    I like the first part of this blurb, right up to: ‘For Glisa, her perfect world isn’t enough…’ – that’s when it starts getting a little bit unclear to me (with she and her, Glisa and Freya) who is who.

    1. Hi Marina. What you say makes sense and I’ll see what I can do to make it less confusing and vague. I really appreciate your honest feedback and it will help me. :-)

  2. I agree with Marina – I got a touch lost there. Also – and I’m showing my ignorance now – I’m not sure about what, exactly, the Celtic ‘bust’ is. Could it be made a tad more clear without ruining the otherwise lovely flow? (Or is it just my ignorance?). Otherwise it certainly makes me want to read the book – I can’t wait till it’s out! :)

  3. Woooooo, fabulous! Book done! I’ll look forward to that being on my bedside table, love stories like that. Bogs, etc.

  4. I think your opening line is a killer line – One of those sentences which makes writing and reading such a wonderful experience. Well done on finishing Alison – it is never easy, but you now have a novel of your making in the world, something you created, and have every reason to be both proud and delighted.

Leave a Reply

