Underwater

Glug, glug, glug.  Have gone under for a while, under housework, mainly 3 feet of ironing, under homework, teething, the whirlpool chaos that is a very mobile eighteen month old. I have managed to revise and tweek some entries for the Bridport Prize 2009 a very presitigious prize that is several steps up the ladder of my ambition but its good to aim high, even if you have to scrabble round in the dirt picking up the arrows afterwards. It is being judged by Ali Smith, one of my absolute favourite writers.  Please read Hotel World and The Accidental. Wacky but wonderful.

(I am working on another story ‘Angels’ that seems to be writing itself (inspiration from on high ha ha!)  but writing at this stage of family life is excruciatingly slow.  But there are plenty of mother’s out there who are freelancing, creative writing, building their careers. To see how it can be done check out and sign up for Christine Katz’s Writer’s Mama e-zine. She gives you insight into all the tricks and tips you can use for developing a writing career, marketing yourself, getting known etc etc. For now I will tag onto her energy.

While I’m underwater I’d like to also recommend a wonderful collection of short stories ‘How to Breathe Underwater’ by Julie Orringer. There are some beautiful and memorable stories in the collection.

And finally some tips for creativity.

1: Have a notebook beside your bed for the odd times when you are not jerked rudely awake by a crying child or even if you are woken at night and can’t get straight back to sleep (?!). Your consciousness as you wake from dreams is swimming with unusual associations, threads of stories and ideas, it could result in a unique idea for a story or other creative project.

2: Write anything. Describe the (very slow) walk with your child to playschool or the sounds and sights as you stand hanging the washing. The other morning I heard pigeons cooing and by the time I went back in I had composed half a poem resulting from a memory they evoked! Write something and edit it later.

More of that next time.

4 comments

  1. Alison,
    wonderful!
    I usually don’t have the patience to read blogging, but I did!

    (makes me want to read your stories and poems, but I always wanted to do that).

    I will come again, so put the kettle on…

    1. Nixa, so glad to have you here. You are an expert in the area of writing and being a mother, so I’m sure you have plenty to teach me and I look forward to reading your writing too.

Leave a Reply

