Bog Body Discovered by Sunday Tribune!

Get my head above water?  Well I must have done or perhaps not… My story Bog Body – which is about being submerge and trapped among other things has been published by Ciaran Carty in The  Sunday Tribune’s New Writing section, yesterday August 2nd! 

http://www.tribune.ie/arts/article/2009/aug/02/bog-body/

I discovered it was to be published only a few days before while visiting family in Kerry.  Without broadband I did not venture to update my blog and have come here to discover so many of you visited yesterday! I hope to greet you again!

It is such an honour to be chosen for the New Writing section, particularly as the story is automatically shortlisted for the Hennessy Literary Awards next year.

http://www.tribune.ie/arts/books/article/2009/jun/28/rules-hennessey-irish-literary-awards/

As I said to a friend, after I found out I was like a child who suddenly remembers its Christmas Eve and finds themselves grinning and spinning with excitement.

Thanks to all of you who sent your best wishes by various technological means. Now that I am back online, normal service will resume and the site will be updated to include a blogroll  etc so I look forward to connecting with other likeminded in the near future.

2 comments

  1. Got Vanessa’s message re your story and went out to buy The Tribune and am I glad I did! What an impressive piece of writing. You have a unique gift for creating hairs-on-arm raising images; I could smell the bog.
    Keep it up…and enjoy the famaily life too,
    kind regards, Patricia Wallace

    1. Thanks so much Patricia. I have been doing what I can in the midst of family chaos and had been concentrating on short stories in the past while. My main motivation, as for most writers, is to connect with others, for them to feel some resonance as they experience the story. What has been wonderful about having this story published is having people let me know that I have in some way managed to achieve that. It spurs me on to keep trying to do the same again and again. So thanks again for taking the time to let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

