2009 Hennessy XO Literary Awards

The official announcement of the Hennessy XO shortlist has been made! My short story Bog Body was published in the Sunday Tribune last August and I’ve been put forward for the Emerging Fiction Award. The award announcements will be made on April 20th in Trinity College.  It’s a thrilling feeling to be involved in this event for the first time, wonderful to get my head above water and appear on the literary scene from out of my domestic hideaway. I look forward to meeting the other nominees. The full list of nominations for the Emerging Fiction, First Fiction and Poetry Awards is below.

First Fiction
Rob O’Shea
Madeleine D’Arcy
Sarah O’Loughlin
John O’Donnell
Oona Frawley
Alice Redmond

Emerging Fiction
James Lawless
Andrew Fox
Michael O’Higgins
Niamh Boyce
Alison Wells
Kate Dempsey

Emerging Poetry
Michael Massey
Olive Broderick
Aideen Henry
Cathal McCabe
Helena Mulkerns
Cliona O’Connell

For more details on the shortlist announcement (Woo Hoo!)  see Irish Publishing News.

6 comments

  1. hi alison, congratulations, what about the article in the tribune today? it makes it al the more the real. looking forward to meeting you – should be a great night. I loved your story it stayed in my mind for a long time after i read it. best of luck – niamh boyce

    1. Hi Niamh,

      Gosh I am so glad you commented. I read your story too and thought it was fabulous, poetic while telling a fully rounded story and such wonderful phrases. It’s my favourite! It will be great to meet you too. I think we are both up for the WOW in Galway if you are going. I am having babysitting issues at the moment but hope I can be there. All the best and see you Tuesday week!

Leave a Reply

