Higgs Boson Anthology

What was I doing at 2am last Thursday night? Finishing a story for the wonderful Year Zero writers Higgs Boson Anthology. The anthology was the fabulous concept of Marcella O’ Connor, one of the Year Zero Collective. What resulted was an anthology of extracts, short stories and poetry where the search for the Higgs Boson particle (using the Large Hadron Collider in CERN Switzerland was the inspiration/philosophical context for the writing. I absolutely love physics/astrophysics and think that it provides just about all the metaphors you could possibly need about thinking about the modern world and relationships between people. I’m at the physics for dummies level though, I don’t have the mathematical brain to fully grasp the science. I gave it a go and probably tried too hard with the science bit and could have got away with just the philosophy but I wrote it in more or less one day. Although it could do with some tweaking I am thrilled that the story Supersymmetric: Almost but not quite, could be included.

All the details are here and the links to bookbuzzer.  There will shortly be a downloadable PDF> When I get my non scientific brain in gear I’ll see if I can figure out how to put the Bookbuzzer button on my sidebar but in the meantime follow the links and enjoy some fabulous writing from some terrific authors.

One comment

Leave a Reply

