Short Story Delights – Bridport Prize and more

A quick post to say that the results of the Bridport Prize are now official and I’m absolutely delighted to say that one of my stories has been shortlisted in this popular and very well known competition. Being on the shortlist means that the story reached the last 100 out of 6000 entries. On hearing the news I must say I shed a little tear of happiness. In the last couple of years I have really had a love affair with the short story and hope to continue to develop my stories.

Big congratulations to the finalists who will be published and the top winners including Kirsty Logan, who I’ve met online, her story sounds sensational.

All the details including judge Zoe Heller’s fascinating report are here Scroll down to see my name!

At the moment I’m working on a novel but thinking about my short stories always thrills me. I have to admit I’m a bit of a short story evangelist. If you are too and are on twitter, check out the #shortstories hashtag and follow @taniahershman, @nikperring and @BristolPrize among others for great short story tweets and links.

In the spirit of this short story love affair I was tremendously taken with this post on Nicola Morgan’s fabulous writing blog. It’s a wonderful interview with short story writer Tom Vowler and it really echoed many of my  short story writing experiences. This post is great but also sign up to Nicola’s blog. It is the most comprehensively helpful blog for writers. Nicola was recently nominated for the Carnegie Award for her latest book ‘Wasted’.

I’ve just discovered this link via the BristolPrize and had to add it as it seems (hopefully) very apt. It’s about why the Irish are good at short stories! Anne Enright in the Guardian.

If you have been scribbling away and have well rouned stories ready for the off, here are some Submission Opportunities for Short Stories.

Fish Prize

BBC Radio 4

RTE Frances McManus Prize

Bristol Prize

10 comments

  1. Well Done Alison, fantastic to hear some good news, saw your piece on facebook ( and I dont spend much time at it ). Wishing you success at the next phase and enjoy the success.
    Keep up the good work
    Denise

Leave a Reply

