Zen and the head of General Grievous

In college years ago my Cognition lecturer told a story where he and his son walking on the mountain and his young son lost a chocolate bar while climbing. To illustrate the Zen Buddhist way of being, he said that he suggested that rather than search intensively for it, they ‘keep an eye open’ on the way down. The openness of their view was beneficial, they caught sight of the coloured wrapper among the grass and found the bar despite the wide area. I was thinking of this story as I walked up the path where my son lost a tiny head of his favourite Lego Star Wars figure on the way to school yesterday. My sons and daughter and I had made a rigourous search of the area a couple of times and a kind cyclist tried his hardest to help.

But it was this morning as walked up the road in the sunlight thinking of my teacher and his son’s lost bar, I caught sight of something on the road and bent to pick it up. Several metres from where it had been lost and on a busy road, I found the tiny head of General Grievous. It was a little miracle.

4 comments

  1. Hi Alison
    This is my first time to read your blog.
    I have a special interest in lost things, being a compulsive dropper of gloves, scarves, hats, umbrellas, bags, jackets et al, so I love your post. The concept of “keeping an eye open” is great…you can see so many other things as you search!
    Mari

Leave a Reply

