Self-published in a bookshop

On writing.ie I share what I have learned so far about getting your self-published book into a  (I am stocked in Dubray books in Bray and in Hughes and Hughes stores in Dublin) and about bookshop launches, as well as the success of a self-published author in the UK at getting his book stocked at Waterstones. Click here for more

I recently joined Wattpad. It’s a platform for writers to share work (both sample chapters of published work and new writing). The aim is for writers is to connect with other writers and find new readers and for readers to find new work they’ll enjoy. They have some high profile advocates such as Margaret Atwood and some serious investment – I’ll give more details in a later post. The advantage for writers is that there is a huge audience in the millions already signed up so your work has the potential to be widely read. However like all platforms you have to attract readers and followers, so work must go into your involvement there. This is a consideration when we’re already stretched keeping up with many platforms. However if you want to have a look it’s www.wattpad.com and here is my page if you want to read any pieces (I have two short stories and an extract from Housewife with a Half-Life on it) or connect if you decide to join.

 

3 comments

  1. Thanks Catherine. I only recently heard about it so I’m interested to hear that you are returning. Why did you leave & what are the pros and cons? Definately more for a further post.

    1. Well I didn’t really leave Wattpad. I registered but never really explored its potential. Then recently I sort of drifted back over to it again, uploaded a few more stories, and decided to start interacting again as another way to build my author platform. So I am currently in the investigation stages if you like…

Leave a Reply

