31 Days: Guest Post Derek Flynn – When is a poem not a poem

This series of articles running through January will explore ways of keeping our head above water in physical, mental, emotional and creative areas. There will be creative challenges, competitions and giveaways. For the full background see here.

We’re looking here in the 31 Days posts at different aspects of creativity. I wanted to hear from musician and writer Derek Flynn on how music, songwriting and writing in general interact for him. He asks when is a poem not a poem, is a song not a poem and tells us what’s the difference between being a songwriter and a novel writer. There’s a link to his blog at the end but also be sure to check out his album Do you Dream at All?

Over to Derek.

As a writer, I’m used to being asked the question: where do you get your ideas from? (I sometimes like to answer: “The Devil”, just to see the look on people’s faces.) But as a writer AND a singer/songwriter, you tend to get asked different types of questions. “How can you get up there and sing in front of all those people?” is usually top of the list. This is common even from other writers. “I could never do that,” they tell me, “I’d freeze.” This from people who would happily get up in front of a room full of people and read their – sometimes painfully personal – stories. I find it very interesting that creative people, i.e. writers, who confound other people’s expectations with their ability to create something are themselves in turn often confounded by a musician’s ability to create something. So, what is the difference between being a novel writer and a songwriter? Or is there one?

To be sure, there are differences. But there are also similarities. For me, I actually began writing stories. I grew up on the British comics of the 1970s, such as, 2000AD and Battle, and I started out as a kid writing and drawing my own comics, eventually graduating onto short stories. Then in my teens I discovered the guitar and began writing songs.

And, to start off with, there are the obvious differences between the two. For me, one of the main differences is that writing music and writing prose require a different headspace. I can’t write a chapter of a book and then turn around and pick up a guitar and start writing a song. When I’m writing a story, I need to concentrate on that and vice versa. Another difference is, you don’t usually sit down and plan out a whole song in advance, using flow-charts and character biographies. But, then again, a lot of novel writers don’t do that either. Many simply sit down with an idea or a character and start writing, letting the story take them where it will. This is very similar to a songwriter.

So, while there are differences, there are similarities as well, which I don’t think my writer friends realise. How many writers have started a story with an image or a phrase or an idea generated by something they saw on the TV or the news? That’s the same way I write a lot of my songs. I will often have an image or a thought or a phrase which will start me off and I will go from there. Writers also often think that song lyrics have to be rhyming couplets. As a songwriter, my lyrics tend to steer clear of the kind of rhyming schemes of someone like Coldplay (sorry Coldplay fans); that is, rhyming of the moon-June-swoon variety. Sometimes my lyrics don’t even rhyme. They are more what could be described as blank verse.

So, is songwriting more like writing poetry then? Well, yes and no. There are those – mostly poets – who take great umbrage with the idea that a mere pop song could be considered poetry. And while this may be the case with a song like Jedward’s ‘Lipstick’, what about the staggering oeuvre of someone like Bob Dylan? And what about someone like Leonard Cohen, who is both a songwriter and a poet? This begs the question: when does a poem stop being a poem and become a song? The answer: when you start to sing it.

Derek Flynn

Derek Flynn is an Irish writer and musician. He’s been published in a number of publications, including The Irish Times, and was First Runner-Up in the 2011 J. G. Farrell Award for Best Novel-In-Progress. His writing/music blog – ‘Rant, with Occasional Music’ – can be found here: http://derekflynn.wordpress.com and on Twitter, he can be found here: http://twitter.com/#!/derekf03

Note re Write Prompt Comp: I’ll announce winners tonight.Update. The day got away from me, apologies, announcement will be Friday.

Leave a Reply

